King is the king!

When people usually ask for a favorite, most of us can’t seem to give just one answer. It’s hard to pick a favorite when there are so many choices. I know I find it hard to pick just one movie as my favorite. But, if you ask me for my favorite author, I will give you one answer without batting an eyelash. Stephen “The King of Horror” King.

If you look at my pathetic excuse for a personal library, Stephen King takes the throne. As for my favorite Stephen King novel, that’s a question I can’t really answer.

If I remember correctly, the first Stephen King book I read was Skeleton Crew. I’m glad that was my first exposure since that was a collection of short stories. I do love great short stories and Stephen King can tell the best of them. If you decide to read Skeleton Crew, do check out The Jaunt, The Raft & Survivor Type . They will mess with your mind! T finds it weird how I love to read about gruesome and horrifying stuff yet I hate watching them. I can’t really explain it either.

Full Dark, No Stars by Stephen King

Anyway, I was eagerly awaiting his new book, Full Dark, No Stars since last year and got my hands on them the day it came out thanks to T who purchased it from Fully Booked, The Fort. This is actually a collection of 4 different short stories linked by the theme of retribution. I don’t like making extensive reviews for books because I never know if I’m giving away too much detail. What I can say is that out of the 4 stories, my favorite would have to be 1922 which is the first story in the book. Set in 1922, a farmer schemes to murder his wife with the help of his son. The outcome makes my skin crawl.

I have to be honest though, this, to me, is not one of his best works.  It’s ok though because I can always go back to reading his other books that I have.

What really draws me to Stephen King’s writing can be summed up in his two  quotes:

“…Monsters are real, and ghosts are real too. They live inside us, and sometimes, they win.”

and

“I’m much more interested by ordinary people in extraordinary situations.”

If you are curious about his writing, I would recommend these (in no particular order):

  • Cujo
  • Different Seasons – particularly Rita Hayworth and the Shawshank Redemption (which to me is probably the best book to movie rendition) and coincidentally is one of my favorite movies of all time.
  • The Talisman 
  • The Shining
  • Pet Sematary
  • Skeleton Crew
  • Dolores Claiborne
  • Just After Sunset – particularly A Very Tight Place. I swear, you will not want to go to port-a-potties anymore.

I don’t know if you can tell but a lot of his books have been turned into movies but I still say nothing beats your own imagination while turning those pages 🙂

I haven’t met anyone who likes Stephen King novels as much as I do, so if you do, let me know and we can set up a cult. Just kidding. 😀

Leave a Reply

